do your homework

Penny stove, hobo stove, canteen cup. What do you use to disinfect water and cook food? Discuss.
Red Wolff
Fair Weather Camper
Has thanked: 0
Been thanked: 0

do your homework

Post by Red Wolff » Sun Dec 14, 2014 1:01 pm

I work in the camping industry. One of the hardest things to get people to be serious about and invest in is water safety/filtration. It is not just knowing about where you are going, but finding information on the current situation in that area. Some times this can be a simple phone call to the ranger station. Other times it is reading up on public water table alerts for areas. If it is an area with high arsnic or iron, most filters will not do the job.

Learning how to make a makeshift filter, digging a foot from the shore line to gather water, and even taking the time to boil are things every bush man or woman needs to learn. We are not o a schedule. If you are, you are, in my humble opinion, missing the point of being there. Moss, sand, charcoal are our friends in emergency situations. It might do to get used to filtering these ways, then boil of couse, instead of turning to your msr or katadyn filter right away. Practice makes perfect. Sure, but it best of all it makes ready the ekills you need to be seacond nature.

DBX
Camp Curmudgeon Master Edge Technician

Re: do your homework

Post by DBX » Sun Dec 14, 2014 6:09 pm

I trust my Sawyer filters and/or boiling, over any others, for biological protection.

In all honesty, the rock, sand, charcoal homemade filters are not as effective as a simple paper coffee filter.

Charcoal filters need the 'activated' charcoal and dwell time to work. Nothing short of an industrial/municiple type purification process will remove chemicals or heavy metals contamination.

Believe me! Living where I live, I think seriously about water purification.